Prizegiving 2011

This year's prizegiving was held on Friday 25 November 2011 at the Outeniqua Transport Museum. The following prizewinners were honoured for their service to the Choir:


Long-Service Awards:

  • 5-Years' Service: Jean-Mari Potgieter
  • 6-Years' Service: Arnu van Wyk
  • 6-Years' Service: Kayla Scholtz
  • 6-Years' Service: Arno Hollander
  • 6-Years' Service: Lishe' Hofmeyr
  • 6-Years' Service: Leandre' Gardiner
  • 7-Years' Service: Courtney Visser
  • 8-Years' Service: Bea Esterhuizen


Special Certificates of Merit (for Musical Contributions)

  • Ashanti van Wyk (Soloist)
  • Anja Tait (Soloist)
  • Erin Joubert (Soloist)
  • Ncuthukazi Webber (Soloist)
  • Brighitte Deister (Soloist)
  • Juan-Mari Barnard (Soloist)
  • Courtney Visser (Soloist & Percussion)
  • Chante' van der Westhuizen (Soloist)
  • Alice Visser (Soloist)
  • Wilbur Grimsell (Percussion)
  • Cornel Engelbrecht (Percussion)
  • Lishe' Hofmeyr (Percussion)
  • Kelsey Albertus (Percussion)
  • Khanya Cona (Percussion)
  • Sumare' Prinsloo (Violin)
  • Jessica Stark (Violin)
  • Catherine Stark (Cello)
  • Revd. Johan Engelbrecht (Violin)
  • Throy Petersen (Piano Accompaniment)



The George Culture Link "Carpe Diem" Floating Trophy for First-Years

(Awarded to members in their first year who faced particular challenges and rose to such challenges with commitment and excellence.)

  • Margo Viljoen
  • Bantu Zonke


The Lishe' Hofmeyr "Con Spirito" Floating Trophy for Juniors (1-3 Years)


(Awarded to a junior member of the Choir who distinguished him/herself by "stepping in and stepping up to the diverse challenges of choir membership.)

  • Elisa Barnardo


The Eddie Lottering "Logistica" Floating Trophy 


(Awarded for excellence in logistic support and service to the Choir)

  • Anja Tait
  • Este' Tait


The Susan Lottering "Persona Ordinata" Floating Trophy 


(Awarded for excellence in the caring for, wearing and managing the choral uniform component of the Choir)

  • Arno Hollander
  • Bea Esterhuizen


The Louise Hofmeyr "Jubilate" Floating Trophy


(Awarded to a deep, quiet child who lives his/her identity in the Choir, excelling without necessarily excelling in other fields, and showing healthy character-traits and leadership skills, thereby contributing greatly to the unity of the group.

  • Anja Tait


The Ronel Vermaak Floating Trophy - Award for 100% Attendance


(Awarded to children who have a 100% attendance of workshops, rehearsals, camps and concerts for a one-year period.)

  • Kelsey Albertus
  • Simone' Christie
  • Savannah Larmour
  • Rolandi Strydom

Special Award: Este' Tait (100% Attendance for 4 years running!)


The Thysie Booyens "Ex Animi" Floating Trophy 


(Awarded to members who have made a unique contribution to the choir's success)

  • Ncuthukazi Webber


The Conductor's "Cantare" Floating Trophy

(Awarded to members with unique musicality, utilizing their gift in the advancement of the overall excellence of the Choir)

  • Throy Petersen


The Chairman's "Excelsior" Floating Trophy

(Awarded to a member who has been a worthy ambassador of the Choir, showing leadership and good service to the Choir.

  • Arno Hollander


The Dawn Victor Floating Trophy for Best Voice Group

(Awarded to the Voice Group who consistently masters its vocal parts and show effective sound quality in performances, good conduct and cooperation.)

  • First Sopranos


The Dawn Victor Floating Trophy for Voice Group with the Best Spirit

(Awarded to a voice group showing consistent motivation in its group dynamic.)

  • Second Altos